117 Peter Street
117 Peter Street
Toronto (Ontario), Canada

Public spaces generated by the construction of a 36-storey condominium tower

Two public spaces are to be created on both sides of the misaligned portion of Richmond Street W. at 117 Peter Street. These opposing spaces link the off-centre segments of the street and articulate the spatial and architectural context in a play of Yin and Yang. The design takes advantage of the important East-West Richmond Street site lines prevailing at the Peter Street intersection.

The south public space (the plaza) is located under the raised podium of the 117 Peter Street tower. The paving pattern on the ground that extends into the building is the result of the superposition of two tiled grids offset from the Peter and Richmond West street axes. The rich motif in white and shades of gray is a wink to the textile designs of the fashion industry that operates near the area.

The north public space is composed of a dense bosk of trees randomly distributed across an expressive paving motif that matches the place across the street. This parcel of forest brought into the city acts as a volumetric and formal counterpart to the south plaza.

Client
Urban Capital Property Group, Malibu Investments, Alit Developments

Collaboration
Wallman Architects, Cecconi Simone Interior Design, Shayne Dark

Area
2 500 m2 (0.6 acres)

Year
2010-2015

Status
Under construction

Categories
Plaza / Garden
Skyscraper
Streetscape
Plan, south and north public spaces, CC+A
Site evolution - 1858, CC+A
Site evolution - 2010, CC+A
Concept, shifted grid overlay, CC+A
Render of the 117 Peter Street tower, Wallman Architects

Precedent, Nova by Arlene Stamp, source unknown

117 Peter St - Construction Phase - Toronto, CC+A
Inventory of architectural and spatial context, CC+A
Section of the north public space, CC+A

117 Peter Street
117 Peter Street
Toronto (Ontario), Canada

Espaces publics associés à la construction d’une tour de condominiums de 36 étages

Deux espaces publics seront créés de part et d’autre de la portion désalignée de la rue Richmond O. au 117 Peter Street. Ces espaces opposés font le lien entre les segments désaxées de la rue et articulent le contexte spatial et architectural dans un jeu de Yin et de Yang. Le design tire partie de l’importante rencontre des lignes est-ouest de la rue Richmond à l’intersection de la rue Peter Street.

L’espace public sud (la plaza) est situé sous le podium surélevé de la tour du 117 Peter Street, un édifice de 36 étages à usage mixte (résidentiel, commercial et d’espaces à bureaux). Le pavage au sol qui se poursuit à l’intérieur du bâtiment est le résultat de la superposition de deux grilles carrelées décalées selon les axes des rues Peter Street et Richmond O. Le riche motif en tons de gris et en blanc est un clin d’œil aux textiles de l’industrie de la mode qui opère dans le quartier.

L’espace public nord est composé d’un bosquet dense d’arbres verdoyants disposés de manière aléatoire sur un motif au sol de même expression que celui de l’espace public de l’autre côté de la rue. Cette parcelle de forêt amenée en ville agit comme la contrepartie volumétrique et formelle de la plaza au sud.

Client
Urban Capital Property Group, Malibu Investments, Alit Developments

Collaboration
Wallman Architects, Cecconi Simone Interior Design, Shayne Dark

Superficie
2 500 m2 (0.6 acres)

Année
2010-2015

Statut
En construction

Catégories
Gratte-ciel
Place / Jardin
Rue
Plan, espaces publics sud et nord, CC+A
Évolution du site - 1858, CC+A
Évolution du site - 2010, CC+A
Concept, superposition de grilles décalées, CC+A
Rendu de la tour du 117 Peter Street, Wallman Architects
Précédent, Nova de Arlene Stamp, source inconnue
117 Peter St - Phase de Construction - Toronto, CC+A
Inventaire du contexte spatial et architectural, CC+A
Coupe de l'espace public nord, CC+A