Commerce Court
Commerce Court
Toronto (Ontario), Canada

Transformation of an iconic address in the heart of Toronto’s Financial District

A new 64-storey mixed-use office building is proposed for the southeast corner of the Commerce Court block at King and Bay Streets in the heart of Toronto’s Financial District. This new East Tower will increase the district’s Class A office area, with full integration into the pedestrian connections of the City’s underground PATH and rapid transit networks.

A key component of the Commerce Court redevelopment plan is a new atrium building called The Pavilion, poised to become a landmark gathering place in the heart of the Financial District. The Pavilion, that will replace the actual existing building to the south, will rise four stories and be enclosed with transparent glazing that allows natural light into the concourse level underground. Envisioned as a culinary and cultural hub, the Pavilion will feature rotating arts installations and venues for cuisine.

The proposal includes extensive improvements to the public realm including a re-imagined Wellington Street frontage, a perched bosque of trees at the corner of King and Bay Streets, enhancements to the existing steps along Bay Street, and the resurfacing of Jordan and Melinda Streets to improve the streetscape environment and facilitate pedestrian access.

The proposal will restore the key heritage assets of Commerce Court, including the 34-storey North Tower. Renowned for its classic Art-Deco style and stunning vaulted gold-coffered ceiling, the North Tower remains a treasured heritage building in Toronto’s Financial District. The adaptive reuse of this architectural gem is part of the long-term vision for the project.

The prestige of I.M. Pei’s 57-storey West Tower will be maintained as an iconic skyscraper in the District. The West Tower is fundamental to the identity and continued success of the property. The pinwheel arrangement from I.M. Pei’s original plan is maintained as the guiding principle in the layout of the new buildings, keeping view corridors clear to the vintage North Tower, and defining the prominent urban courtyard at the centre of the block.

An infill opportunity to establish frontage for Commerce Court on Yonge Street to the east will secure an address on all of the four major streets flanking the Commerce Court superblock, marking the next iteration in the evolution of this renowned office complex.

Client
QuadReal Property Group

Collaboration
Hariri Pontarini Architects, Urban Strategies, ERA Architects, DIALOG, BA Group

Area
16 835 m2 (4.13 acres)

Year
2016-...

Status
In progress

Categories
Heritage
Institutional
Plaza / Garden
Skyscraper
Streetscape
Rendering - Hariri Pontarini Architects
Rendering - Hariri Pontarini Architects
Rendering - Hariri Pontarini Architects
Site Plan - Claude Cormier + Associés
Rendering - Hariri Pontarini Architects
Rendering - Hariri Pontarini Architects
Rendering - Hariri Pontarini Architects
Rendering - Hariri Pontarini Architects
Rendering - Hariri Pontarini Architects
Rendering - Hariri Pontarini Architects
Rendering - Hariri Pontarini Architects
Rendering - Hariri Pontarini Architects
Rendering - Hariri Pontarini Architects
Rendering - Hariri Pontarini Architects
Rendering - Hariri Pontarini Architects
Plan, King/Bay Streets Parkette - Claude Cormier + Associés
Photo, North Tower - Vaulted Gold-Coffered Ceiling - source inconnue
Section, King/Bay Streets Parkette - Claude Cormier + Associés
Rendering, King/Bay Streets Parkette - Hariri Pontarini Architects
Rendering, King/Bay Streets Parkette - Hariri Pontarini Architects
Plan, Bay Street Steps Enhancement - Claude Cormier + Associés
Rendering, Bay Street Steps Enhancement - Hariri Pontarini Architects
Rendering - Hariri Pontarini Architects
Observation Deck of the North Tower (Bank of Commerce), c.1930 - Unknown Source
Rendering - Hariri Pontarini Architects
Urban Context - Urban Strategies
Urban Context - Hariri Pontarini Architects, Urban Strategies
Urban Context - Urban Strategies
Map of Toronto's Downtown Pedestrian Walkway (PATH) - Urban Strategies
Section - Hariri Pontarini Architects
Proposed Wellington Streetscape, Connection Between Commerce Court and Berczy Park - Claude Cormier + Associés
Proposed Wellington Streetscape, Connection Between Victoria Park and Berczy Park - Claude Cormier + Associés
Rendering - Hariri Pontarini Architects
Rendering - Hariri Pontarini Architects
Rendering - Hariri Pontarini Architects

Commerce Court
Commerce Court
Toronto (Ontario), Canada

Transformation d’un lieu historique au coeur du quartier financier de Toronto

Un nouvel immeuble de bureaux multifonctionnel de 64 étages sera construit au coin sud-est du Commerce Court au coin de King et Bay Streets, au cœur du quartier financier de Toronto. La nouvelle tour, complètement intégrée aux accès piétonniers du PATH (le réseau souterrain de la ville) et du métro, augmentera l’offre d’espaces de bureaux de classe A dans le quartier.

Élément clé du redéveloppement du Commerce Court, le nouvel atrium The Pavillon, est destiné à devenir un lieu de rencontre emblématique du quartier financier. Remplaçant l’actuel bâtiment au sud, l’atrium de verre s’élèvera sur quatre étages, laissant pénétrer la lumière naturelle jusqu’au niveau souterrain. Envisagé comme un haut-lieu culturel et gastronomique, The Pavillon présentera des installations artistiques en alternance ainsi que des espaces de restauration.

Le projet comprend d’importantes bonifications de l’espace public telles que le réaménagement de la façade sur Wellington Street, un bosquet d’arbres au coin de King et Bay Streets, l’amélioration des marches existantes le long de Bay Street et le resurfaçage de Jordan et Melinda Streets pour rehausser l’environnement urbain et le rendre plus convivial pour les piétons.

Le projet propose par ailleurs de restaurer les atouts patrimoniaux du Commerce Court, notamment la tour nord de 34 étages. Réputée pour son style art déco et son impressionnant plafond voûté à caissons dorés, cette tour constitue un bien patrimonial précieux dans ce quartier de Toronto. La conservation adaptée de ce bijou architectural fait d’ailleurs partie de la vision à long terme du projet.

Gratte-ciel iconique du quartier, la fameuse tour ouest de 57 étages signée I. M. Pei sera elle aussi préservée. Cette tour est essentielle à l’identité et au succès du projet. L’arrangement en virevent présent dans les plans d’origine de I. M. Pei est conservé et utilisé comme ligne directrice pour l’implantation des nouveaux bâtiments, permettant ainsi de conserver des couloirs visuels dégagés sur la tour nord et d’établir une importante cour urbaine au centre du bloc.

Une opportunité d’édification sur un bâtiment intercalaire existant donnant sur Yonge Street va désormais assurer une connexion aux quatre rues définissant ce Superblock, marquant ainsi une nouvelle étape dans l’évolution de ce célèbre complexe administratif.

Client
QuadReal Property Group

Collaboration
Hariri Pontarini Architects, Urban Strategies, ERA Architects, DIALOG, BA Group

Superficie
16 835 m2 (4.13 acres)

Année
2016-...

Statut
En développement

Catégories
Gratte-ciel
Institutionnel
Patrimoine
Place / Jardin
Rue
Rendu - Hariri Pontarini Architects
Rendu - Hariri Pontarini Architects
Rendu - Hariri Pontarini Architects
Plan du site - Claude Cormier + Associés
Rendu - Hariri Pontarini Architects
Rendu - Hariri Pontarini Architects
Rendu - Hariri Pontarini Architects
Rendu - Hariri Pontarini Architects
Rendu - Hariri Pontarini Architects
Rendu - Hariri Pontarini Architects
Rendu - Hariri Pontarini Architects
Rendu - Hariri Pontarini Architects
Rendu - Hariri Pontarini Architects
Rendu - Hariri Pontarini Architects
Rendu - Hariri Pontarini Architects
Plan, King/Bay Streets Parkette - Claude Cormier + Associés
Photo, North Tower - plafond voûté à caissons dorés - source inconnue
Coupe, King/Bay Streets Parkette - Claude Cormier + Associés
Rendu, King/Bay Streets Parkette - Hariri Pontarini Architects
Rendu, King/Bay Streets Parkette - Hariri Pontarini Architects
Plan, modification des escaliers de Bay Street - Claude Cormier + Associés
Rendu, modification des escaliers de Bay Street - Hariri Pontarini Architects
Rendu - Hariri Pontarini Architects
Pont d'observation de la North Tower (Bank of Commerce), c.1930 - source inconnue
Rendu - Hariri Pontarini Architects
Contexte urbain - Urban Strategies
Contexte urbain - Hariri Pontarini Architects, Urban Strategies
Contexte urbain - Urban Strategies
Plan du réseau de circulation souterrain (PATH) - Urban Strategies
Coupe - Hariri Pontarini Architects
Wellington Street, connection proposée entre Commerce Court et Berczy Park - Claude Cormier + Associés
Wellington Street, connection proposée entre Victoria Park et Berczy Park - Claude Cormier + Associés
Rendu - Hariri Pontarini Architects
Rendu - Hariri Pontarini Architects
Rendu - Hariri Pontarini Architects