Place d’Armes
Place d’Armes
Montréal (Québec), Canada

Charette to reimagine the second oldest public space in Montreal
(part of 2007 UNESCO City of Design)

As the density of the contemporary American city increases, so the spaces between buildings assume an increasingly important role in fostering a sense of identity and a quality of life for the urban dweller.

One of Montreal’s oldest public places, Place d’Armes is the first square in the city to achieve the intensity of peripheral activity necessary to support the type of minimal public space one finds in historic European cities. A space that is minimal in expression and open to appropriation – a space of imagination.

The minimalism of an Italian piazza is directly related to the intense human activity of its periphery. This activity is the pageant of life in all its colors: the movement of people, the calm of architectural monuments, the cacophony of symbols, the murmur of rumors, facts, and voices, the happiness of others, the odors, the smoke, the stories, the despair of the homeless, the garbage, the passions, the excuses, the congestion of tourists, the joy, the suspicions, the sighs, the frivolous vehicles and the utilitarian vehicles.

To give form to this new space of imagination, our project unrolls a carpet to the limits of the surrounding buildings. Communicative and tactile, this surface both reveals history and creates the future. It re-establishes in one gesture the territorial scale of the original landscape and the human scale of the user.

Like objects left under a carpet, three elements, each witness to specific historic eras, affirm their physical presence and symbolic importance. The foundations of Montreal’s first church are extruded to create a prestigious drop-off for the Notre-Dame Cathedral; Paul Chomedey de Maisonneuve, father of Montreal, maintains his monumental position overseeing the city he founded; and the entry to the underground washrooms offers the promise of new social activities. Placed on the carpet like pieces of furniture are a series of objects of our time – organic street furniture, trees, bollards, and lamps.

Our project, our carpet, is above all a gesture of generosity. A gesture of generosity that should be the base of civil life and the principal function of public space.

Generous in the numerous opportunities it offers.

Generous in the spatial dimensions it creates.

Generous by its act of social inclusion.

Generous in the multiple symbols it carries.

Generous in its celebration of life.

Client
City of Montreal

Collaboration
Gavin Affleck, Raphaelle de Groot, Ulrich Beckefeld, Diana Cabeza, Alexandre Cassiani

Area
6000 m2 (1,5 acre)

Awards

AAPC
National Honor – Design Category– participation in advisory committee

Year
2007

Status
Concept

Categories
Heritage
Installation
Installation
Plaza / Garden
Photomontage, CC+A
Perspective, CC+A
View into perspective, CC+A
Conceptuel reference, CC+A
The Persistence of Memory, Salvador Dali, 1931
1672
1704
1828 - Place d'Armes, Montréal, R.A. Spoule, dans Montréal, recueil iconographique, volumes 1&2, Charles DeVolpi, 1963
Photomontage, CC+A
Photomontage, CC+A
Photomontage, CC+A
Photomontage, CC+A
2007 - Built heritage, CC+A

Place d’Armes
Place d’Armes
Montréal (Québec), Canada

Charette pour réimaginer la deuxième place publique la plus anciennne de Montréal
(UNESCO Ville de Design 2007)

La densification de la ville contemporaine en Amérique fait en sorte que les espaces entre les bâtiments deviennent de plus en plus importants pour la création d’identité et la qualité de vie des citadins.

Une des plus anciennes places publiques de Montréal, la Place d’Armes est aujourd’hui la première place montréalaise, avec une activité périphérique suffisamment intense pour supporter le type d’espace minimal qu’on retrouve dans les villes historiques d’Europe. Un espace minimal en expression, et ouvert à l’appropriation – un espace d’imagination.

Le minimalisme d’une piazza italienne est directement lié à l’intense activité humaine de sa périphérie. Cette activité périphérique est la vie qui se manifeste dans toutes ses couleurs : le mouvement des gens, le calme des monuments architecturaux, la cacophonie des symboles, les rumeurs, les faits, les voix, le bonheur des autres, les odeurs, la fumée, les histoires, le désespoir des clochards, les déchets, les amours, les excuses, la congestion touristique, la joie, les soupçons, les soupirs, les véhicules de fantaisie et les véhicules utilitaires.

Pour donner forme à ce nouvel espace d’imagination, notre projet déroule un tapis jusqu’aux limites des bâtiments. Parlante et tactile, cette surface est révélatrice d’histoire et porteuse du futur. Elle rétablit à la fois l’échelle territoriale du paysage d’origine et l’échelle humaine de l’usager.

Tels des objets laissés en dessous du tapis, trois éléments, chacun témoin d’époques historiques particulières, affirment leur présence physique et leur importance symbolique. Les fondations de la première église de Montréal sont extrudées pour devenir un débarcadère de prestige pour la Basilique; le monument de Paul Chomedey de Maisonneuve, fondateur de Montréal, garde sa position veillant sur la ville qu’il a fondée, et l’entrée aux vespasiennes offre l’opportunité de créer de nouvelles fonctions sociales.

Posés par dessus ce tapis comme des meubles, sont quelques objets de notre temps – mobilier organique, arbres, bollards, lampes, etc.

Notre projet, notre tapis, est avant tout un geste de générosité. Un geste de générosité qui devrait être la base de la vie civile et qui devrait être la fonction principale de la place publique.

Généreux dans les nombreuses opportunités qu’il offre.

Généreux dans les dimensions d’espace qu’il crée.

Généreux par son acte d’inclusion sociale.

Généreux dans les multiples symboles qu’il porte.

Généreux  par ce qu’il célèbre : la vie.

Client
Ville de Montréal

Collaboration
Gavin Affleck, Raphaelle de Groot, Ulrich Beckefeld, Diana Cabeza, Alexandre Cassiani

Superficie
6000 m2 (1,5 acres)

Prix

AAPC
Prix Honneur National – catégorie design – participation au comité aviseur

Année
2007

Statut
Concept

Catégories
Installation
Patrimoine
Place / Jardin
Photomontage, CC+A
Perspective, CC+A
Vue dans la perspective, CC+A
Référence conceptuelle, CC+A
The Persistence of Memory, Salvador Dali, 1931
1672
1704
1828 - Place d'Armes, Montréal, R.A. Spoule, dans Montréal, recueil iconographique, volumes 1&2, Charles DeVolpi, 1963
Photomontage, CC+A
Photomontage, CC+A
Photomontage, CC+A
Photomontage, CC+A
2007 - Patrimoine et encadrement bâti, CC+A