Clock Tower Beach
Clock Tower Beach
Montréal (Québec), Canada

The introduction of an urban beach to the Quai de l’Horloge is an ideal addition to the recreational and cultural redevelopment of Montreal’s Old Port. A stroll along the quay opens a stunning panorama to the visitor: the mighty St. Lawrence River, the impressive Jacques Cartier Bridge towering over Île Sainte-Hélène, Calder’s iconic sculpture, and picturesque Old Montreal as a backdrop to it all.

Our project consists of two closely-linked components. The first is the creation of an urban beach at the Pointe de l’Horloge, with its elegant clock tower built in 1921, and along the lower quay bordering the marina. A huge stairway-ramp makes this convivial venue accessible to all, offering a new and novel approach to city living. Beach umbrellas and weeping willows, brightly coloured chairs and fixtures, showers and mist stations, a boardwalk, silky sand, and a refreshment stand all combine to offer visitors a few moments of sheer idleness in a breathtaking setting.

The second component is the parking area, clearly defined by rows of trees that reproduces the triangular layout of the quay. Fed by surface water run-off, the larches, willows, shrub beds, and perennials add cool green ambiance to the space. At the far west end of the site, shooting up from a mound around which a roundabout loops, hundreds of sticks in three shades of blue generate an intriguing pixilation effect. This “porcupine” installation revives a conceptual element emblematic of the firm. And, as an imaginative visual touch, large white thermoplastic dots align to denote each parking spot.

The project, massive yet delightfully simple, extends and intensifies the idea driving the master plan of the Old Port of Montreal to create a “window on the river” by summoning Montrealers and visitors alike to come and enjoy this exceptional site and its atmosphere of leisure and liveliness, recreation and relaxation.

Client
Société du Vieux-Port de Montréal

Collaboration
Les Services exp inc., Éclairage Public, Gilles Arpin

Area
13 000m2 (3.2 acre)

Awards

2015
Regional Citation – Canadian Society of Landscape Architects – Design

2014
Exterior Architectural Lighting – Illuminating Engineering Society – in collaboration with Éclairage Public

Year
2009-2012

Status
Built

Categories
Park
Waterfront
Photo, 2012 - Guillaume Paradis, Claude Cormier et Associés
Photo, 2012, Aerial view, urban beach and parking area at Quai de l'Horloge - Guillaume Paradis, Claude Cormier et Associés
Photo, 2012 - Guillaume Paradis, Claude Cormier et Associés
Photo, 2012, Urban Beach and Parking Area at Quai de l'Horloge - Guillaume Paradis, Claude Cormier et Associés
Photo, 2012 - Guillaume Paradis, Claude Cormier et Associés
Photo, 2012 - Guillaume Paradis, Claude Cormier et Associés
Photo, 2017 - Raphaël Thibodeau
Photo, 2017 - Raphaël Thibodeau
Photo, 2017 - Raphaël Thibodeau
Photo, 2017 - Raphaël Thibodeau
Photo, 2017 - Raphaël Thibodeau
Photo, 2017 - Raphaël Thibodeau
Photo, 2012 - Marc Cramer
Photo, 2017 - Raphaël Thibodeau
Photo, 2017 - Raphaël Thibodeau
Photo, 2017 - Raphaël Thibodeau
Photo, 2012 - Guillaume Paradis, Claude Cormier et Associés
Photo, 2012 - Guillaume Paradis, Claude Cormier et Associés
Photo, 2012 - Guillaume Paradis, Claude Cormier et Associés
Photo, 2012 - Marc Cramer
Photo, 2012 - Marc Cramer
Photo, 2012 - Guillaume Paradis, Claude Cormier et Associés
Photo, 2012 - Marc Cramer
Photo, 2012 - Jonathan Cha
Photo, 2012 - Jonathan Cha
Photo, 2017 - Raphaël Thibodeau
Photo, 2012, Parking Area - Marc Cramer
Photo, 2012, Roundabout - Marc Cramer
Photo, 2012 - Claude Cormier et Associés
Photo, 2012 - Claude Cormier et Associés
Plan - Claude Cormier et Associés

Plage de l’horloge
Plage de l’horloge
Montréal (Québec), Canada

L’aménagement d’une plage urbaine sur le quai de l’Horloge s’inscrit à merveille dans le projet de réaménagement à des fins récréatives et culturelles du Vieux-Port de Montréal. Une déambulation le long du quai permet d’embrasser le panorama magnifique qui se déploie sous nos yeux : le fleuve Saint-Laurent, le pont Jacques-Cartier, l’île Sainte-Hélène, l’emblématique sculpture de Calder, et le Vieux-Montréal en arrière-scène de la marina.

Notre projet consiste en deux interventions intimement liées. D’abord, la conception d’une plage urbaine à la pointe de l’Horloge, d’où s’élance l’élégante tour érigée en 1921, et sur le bas quai longeant la marina. Accessible à tous par une rampe-escalier monumentale, cet environnement convivial propose une nouvelle façon, inusitée, de vivre en ville, de l’occuper autrement. Parasols et saules pleureurs, mobilier coloré, colonnes de brumisation et douches, promenade en bois, sable soyeux et buvette, se présentent comme autant d’éléments susceptibles d’offrir aux citadins un moment de farniente dans un décor à couper le souffle…

Ensuite, la conception du réaménagement du parc de stationnement qui repose sur des lignes fortes créées par des rangées d’arbres soulignant la forme triangulaire du quai. Tirant profit des eaux de ruissellement, mélèzes, saules, massifs d’arbustes et de vivaces composent et verdissent l’espace. À l’extrémité ouest du site, fichés dans un rond-point en forme de monticule, des bâtons de trois teintes de bleu jouent sur un effet de pixélisation. Cette installation à l’allure d’un « hérisson » réactive ainsi un élément conceptuel caractéristique de la firme. Touche visuelle novatrice, des points blancs en thermoplastique délimitent l’emplacement des voitures.

Ce projet d’envergure, réalisé simplement, prolonge et intensifie de façon opportune l’idée maîtresse du plan directeur de la Société du Vieux-Port, cette « fenêtre sur le fleuve », en invitant les citoyens et les touristes à profiter de ce lieu exceptionnel dans une atmosphère sereine et amusante de loisir et de repos.

Client
Société du Vieux-Port de Montréal

Collaboration
Les Services exp inc., Éclairage Public, Gilles Arpin

Superficie
13 000m2 (3.2 acre)

Prix

AAPC
Citation régionale – Catégorie conception

Illuminating Engineering Society
Prix Lumière 2014 – Catégorie éclairage architectural extérieur – En collaboration avec Éclairage Public

Année
2009-2012

Statut
Construit

Catégories
Parc
Waterfront
Photo, Guillaume Paradis, CC+A
Vue aérienne, plage + parc de stationnement du quai de l'Horloge, Guillaume Paradis, CC+A
Photo, Guillaume Paradis, CC+A
Photo, plage + parc de stationnement du quai de l'Horloge, Guillaume Paradis, CC+A
Photo, Guillaume Paradis, CC+A
Photo, Guillaume Paradis, CC+A
Photo, Guillaume Paradis, CC+A
Photo, Guillaume Paradis, CC+A
Photo, plage de la pointe de l'Horloge, Guillaume Paradis, CC+A
Photo, Marc Cramer
Photo, Marc Cramer
Photo, plage de la pointe de l'Horloge, Marc Cramer
Photo, Guillaume Paradis, CC+A
Photo, Guillaume Paradis, CC+A
Photo, Guillaume Paradis, CC+A
Photo, plage du bas-quai, Marc Cramer
Photo, Marc Cramer
Photo, Marc Cramer
Photo, Guillaume Paradis, CC+A
Photo, Marc Cramer
Photo, Jonathan Cha
Photo, Jonathan Cha
Photo, parc de stationnement, CC+A
Photo, parc de stationnement, Marc Cramer
Photo, rond-point, Marc Cramer
Photo, CC+A
Photo, CC+A
Plan, CC+A