Vaughan Metropolitan Centre/Central Park
and Masterplan
Vaughan Metropolitan Centre/Central Park and Masterplan
Vaughan (Ontario), Canada

Masterplan – A transit oriented community within a green framework

The Vaughan Metropolitan Centre is a proposed 60 hectare (150 acre) development that will redefine Vaughan’s city centre. Connected to the Greater Toronto Area through the TTC subway extension and an expanded regional transportation network, the Vaughan Metro Centre proposes a wide range of spaces and amenities for residents and businesses, such as office towers, mixed-use residential buildings, pedestrian shopping, restaurants and green spaces, all within a walkable and bicycle-friendly public realm.

The wide variety of green spaces, diversified in both scale and functions, composes a green framework that weaves the various phases of the development in a coherent ensemble. The green spaces are designed as purposeful amenities that cement the fabric of the public realm, support the cultural and recreational program and create opportunities for the integration of both art and nature in an urban setting. Cutting edge practices in sustainable development are deployed to achieve the highest possible efficiency standards for stormwater re-use, greening, reduction in heat island effect, and active transportation.

Working on the solid foundation laid by the VMC Streetscape and Open Space Plan, the Park and Open Space Network envisioned in the Masterplan establishes a structured hierarchy of green space typologies meant to provide easy access to outdoor amenities and destinations while connecting the proposed development to the existing open spaces surrounding the development. The major urban park and the contiguous plaza occupying the central axis of the development create a primary link to adjacent natural spaces like black creek while smaller and more intimate neighborhood parks scattered across the area offer activities and leisure close to the residents. In addition, a series of mews offer mid-block pedestrian connections allowing the 25 thousand new residents to travel back and forth in a car-free, landscaped urban network.

VMC Central Park – A modern picturesque park

Acting as a backbone for the new development, the Central Park emulates and updates the tradition of the great scenic parks of the City Beautiful movement. Envisioned as a public amenity to be shared and enjoyed on a daily basis, the parks is meant to act as a catalyst for the establishment of the new community, offering beauty, leisure and entertainment while acting as a key structuring piece of the urban layout.

Divided in three adjacent blocks, the parks plan is conceived to clearly anchor and prolong the street / block layout and to support a coherent and hierarchized mobility network, allowing the harmonious cohabitation of pedestrians, cyclists and motorists. The civic plaza adjacent to the new TTC terminal at the East end of the axis serves as a natural anchor for the park as a prime mobility infrastructure of the 60 hectare Transit Oriented Development (TOD). Wide sidewalks separated from the roadway by a planted boulevard on every edge of the 3 distinct blocks create a safe and comfortable pedestrian fringe to the park. The dedicated bike lanes on the north edge of the park along Applemill Road as well as along the major North/South streets (Millway Ave, Edgeley Blvd and Applewood Rd) bolster the growing popularity of active transportation.

The distinctive design of the park, inspired by the work of British artist Bridget Riley, uses a filigree intersecting of curves to create a strong and functional language that unifies the adjacent blocks of the Park. The circulation pattern of the Park, achieved through this unique succession of curves, creates a series of passages alternating between wooded areas, flowering Bosque and clearings. This feature, echoing the finesse of the art of storytelling that was found in the work of masters like Frederick Law Olmsted and Frederick Todd, plays on the inherent qualities of the spaces that the walker traverses and the transitions that happen as different landscapes unfold.

The use of specific topographical features in each of the park’s blocks further distinguishes the character of each portion while also supporting different programmatic elements. The East block of the park, with its hills and valley, is the threshold to the park system. Its central open area can accommodate gathering for up to 3500 people such as outdoor movie projections, and its perennial garden, marble water basin and oversized swing create interest for kids and adults. The Central block of the park, with a grand sunken lawn at its center, can accommodate large gatherings or be used as a field sport infrastructure. A park pavilion with a roof terrace provides services at the heart of the space and a water play area, dog run and picnic area makes the space a most complete recreational pole for families. In the West block of the Park, an open glade with a large fountain and an oversized curved pergola sits on a raised plateau at the center of the space, creating a contemplative setting for lazy afternoons. Children’s play areas bring animation to the space east of the plateau while the western threshold of the park is occupied by a raised chestnut tree grove.

The highly diversified planting plan is meant to emphasize this sense of alternating tableaus, using grouping of trees of the same species to create volumes of singular character. With each grouping expressing the specificity of a particular type of tree, the meandering progression through the park’s curved path system is a constant succession of colors and ambiances.

Being conceived as a cultural amenity in its own right, gathering spaces of various scales and adapted infrastructure makes Central Park a choice destination for social happenings. The Park also has great potential for the implementation of an art walk, taking advantage of the numerous intersecting paths that generate abundant opportunities for the introduction of art pieces disseminated on the central axis of the linear space.

Client
SmartREIT/SmartURBAN

Collaboration
Diamond Schmitt Architects Inc., BA Group

Area
Vaughan Metropolitain Centre - 600 000 m2 (150 acres) / Central Park - 43 100 m2 (10.7 acres)

Year
2012-...

Status
In progress

Categories
Master Plan
Park
Plaza / Garden
Streetscape
Rendering – SmartCentres, SmartUrban, Claude Cormier + Associés and Diamond Schmitt Architects
Aerial Rendering Looking West – SmartCentres, SmartUrban, Claude Cormier + Associés and Diamond Schmitt Architects
Conceptual Inspiration (Composition with Circles 2) – Bridget Riley
Rendering – SmartCentres, SmartUrban, Claude Cormier + Associés and Diamond Schmitt Architects
Rendering – SmartCentres, SmartUrban, Claude Cormier + Associés and Diamond Schmitt Architects
Rendering – SmartCentres, SmartUrban, Claude Cormier + Associés and Diamond Schmitt Architects
Rendering – SmartCentres, SmartUrban, Claude Cormier + Associés and Diamond Schmitt Architects
Rendering – SmartCentres, SmartUrban, Claude Cormier + Associés and Diamond Schmitt Architects
Rendering – SmartCentres, SmartUrban, Claude Cormier + Associés and Diamond Schmitt Architects
Rendering – SmartCentres, SmartUrban, Claude Cormier + Associés and Diamond Schmitt Architects
Rendering – SmartCentres, SmartUrban, Claude Cormier + Associés and Diamond Schmitt Architects
Tree Species Diversity – Claude Cormier + Associés
VMC Central Park, Masterplan – Claude Cormier + Associés and Diamond Schmitt Architects
VMC Central Park, Landscape Typologies – Claude Cormier + Associés
Section, Landscape Typologies – Claude Cormier + Associés
Program Diagram – Claude Cormier + Associés
VMC SmartUrban Development, Key Plan – Claude Cormier + Associés
VMC SmartUrban Development, Circulation and Uses – + AssociésClaude Cormier
Vaughan Metropolitain Centre (VMC) Streetscape and Open Space Masterplan – City of Vaughan
Vaughan Metropolitain Centre (VMC), Regional Context – Claude Cormier + Associés

Vaughan Metropolitan Centre/Central Park
Vaughan Metropolitan Centre/Central Park et plan directeur
Vaughan (Ontario), Canada

Plan directeur – Une communauté axée sur le transport actif au cœur d’une trame verte

Vaughan Metropolitan Centre est un nouveau développement de 60 hectares (150 acres) qui entend redéfinir le centre-ville de Vaughan, au nord de Toronto. Connecté à la grande région de Toronto par l’extension du réseau de métro et par un nouveau réseau de transport régional, ce nouveau centre-ville propose aux résidents et aux entreprises plusieurs aménagements typiques de la vie urbaine comme des tours à bureaux mutlifonctionnelles, des unités résidentielles, des zones commerçantes piétonnes, des restaurants et des espaces verts, le tout axé sur les déplacements actifs tels que la marche et le vélo.

Une grande variété d’espaces verts de tailles et de fonctions variées sert de trame verte entre les différentes phases du développement, créant ainsi un ensemble cohérent. Ces espaces sont conçus comme des aménagements destinés à renforcer le tissu social, soutenir les activités culturelles et récréatives et créer des opportunités d’intégrer art et nature au cœur d’un milieu urbain. L’usage de pratiques inédites en matière de développement durable permet d’atteindre les plus hauts standards de performance quant à la réutilisation de l’eau de pluie, le verdissement, la réduction de ilots de chaleur et le transport actif.

Travaillant sur des bases solides établies par le VMC Streetscape and Open Space Plan, le réseau de parcs et d’espaces publics envisagé pour le plan directeur propose une hiérarchie structurée d’espaces verts destinés à rendre les aménagements extérieurs facilement accessibles tout en connectant le développement aux espaces ouverts déjà présents autour du bâtiment. La grand parc urbain et l’esplanade adjacente qui occupent l’axe central du développement créent un lien structurant et essentiel avec les espaces naturels adjacents comme Black Creek, tandis que des parcs de quartier, plus petits et plus intimes, répartis ici et là, offrent activités et loisirs aux résidents. Par ailleurs, une série d’allées établissent des liens piétonniers permettant aux 25 000 futurs résidents d’aller et venir au cœur d’un réseau urbain paysager et exempt d’automobiles.

VMC Central Park – Un parc pittoresque moderne

Véritable colonne vertébrale du nouveau développement, le Central Park reproduit et modernise la tradition des grands parcs paysagers chers au mouvement City Beautiful. Envisagé comme une installation publique partagée et utilisée au quotidien, le parc a pour but de catalyser l’installation d’une nouvelle communauté, offrant beauté, loisir et divertissement tout en étant un élément structurant du paysage urbain.

Divisé en trois blocs contigus, le parc est conçu pour arrimer et prolonger la trame des rues et des ilots et développer ainsi un réseau de mobilité cohérent et hiérarchisé permettant la cohabitation harmonieuse entre piétons, cyclistes et automobilistes. L’esplanade civique adjacente au nouveau terminal TTC, à l’extrémité est de l’axe, sert d’ancrage naturel au parc en tant qu’axe principal de mobilité de ce Transit Oriented Development (TOD, développement axé sur le transport en commun) de 60 hectares. De vastes trottoirs séparés de la route par un boulevard planté délimitent chaque côté des trois blocs, créant des parcours piétons agréables et sécuritaires en direction du parc. Les voies cyclistes réservées sur la façade nord du parc, le long de Applemill Road et des routes nord/sud principales (Millway Ave, Edgeley Blvd and Applewood Rd), participent au succès du transport actif.

Inspiré de l’œuvre de l’artiste peintre britannique Bridget Riley, le design unique du parc se sert d’un entrecroisement de courbes en filigrane pour créer un langage commun, fonctionnel et puissant, avec les blocs adjacents. La répartition des allées du parc formée par cet agencement unique de courbes donne naissance à une série de passages alternant aires boisées, bosquets fleuris et clairières. Cette caractéristique rappelle l’art subtil de la narration présent dans le travail de maîtres tels que Frederick Law Olmsted et Frederick Todd et joue sur les qualités inhérentes des espaces que le promeneur traverse et les transitions qui surviennent à mesure que les différents paysages se révèlent.

L’utilisation d’éléments topographiques propres à chaque bloc du parc permet de distinguer chacune des parties tout en renforçant leurs différents objectifs. Le bloc est, avec ses deux collines et sa vallée constitue l’entrée du parc. Son aire centrale permet la tenue de rassemblements allant jusqu’à 3500 personnes (comme lors de projections extérieures de films, par exemple), tandis que son jardin de vivaces, son bassin de marbre et ses balançoires géantes attirent les petits comme les grands. Le bloc central du parc, avec en son centre, une grande pelouse submergée, peut aussi accueillir de grands rassemblements ou servir de terrain sportif. Un pavillon doté d’une terrasse de toit et offrant différents services, des jeux d’eau, un parc canin et une aire de pique-nique font de cet espace un pôle récréatif idéal pour les familles. Dans le bloc ouest du parc, une clairière avec une fontaine et une pergola surdimensionnée disposés sur un plateau surélevé au centre de l’espace, forment un aménagement contemplatif idéal pour les après-midis de détente. Les aires de jeux pour enfants animent l’espace à l’est de ce plateau, tandis que la limite ouest du parc est occupée par un bosquet de surélevé de marronniers.

En regroupant les arbres par espèce pour créer des volumes particuliers, le projet de plantation très diversifié entend renforcer l’alternance des différents tableaux : la progression sinueuse à travers le parc devient alors une succession de couleurs et d’ambiance.

Conçus comme équipement culturel à part entière, les espaces de rassemblement de différentes tailles et les infrastructures adaptées font du Central Park une destination de choix pour les événements sociaux. Le parc dispose également d’un grand potentiel d’intégration d’un parcours artistique au vu des nombreux chemins qui s’entrecroisent et qui sont autant d’opportunités de disposer des œuvres d’art le long de l’axe principal.

Client
SmartREIT/SmartURBAN

Collaboration
Diamond Schmitt Architects Inc., BA Group

Superficie
Vaughan Metropolitain Centre - 600 000 m2 (150 acres) / Central Park - 43 100 m2 (10.7 acres)

Année
2012-...

Statut
En développement

Catégories
Parc
Place / Jardin
Plan directeur
Rue
Rendu – SmartCentres, SmartUrban, Claude Cormier + Associés et Diamond Schmitt Architects
Rendu aérien vers l'ouest – SmartCentres, SmartUrban, Claude Cormier + Associés et Diamond Schmitt Architects
Inspiration conceptuelle (Composition with Cercles 2) – Bridget Riley
Rendu – SmartCentres, SmartUrban, Claude Cormier + Associés et Diamond Schmitt Architects
Rendu – SmartCentres, SmartUrban, Claude Cormier + Associés et Diamond Schmitt Architects
Rendu – SmartCentres, SmartUrban, Claude Cormier + Associés et Diamond Schmitt Architects
Rendu – SmartCentres, SmartUrban, Claude Cormier + Associés et Diamond Schmitt Architects
Rendu – SmartCentres, SmartUrban, Claude Cormier + Associés et Diamond Schmitt Architects
Rendu – SmartCentres, SmartUrban, Claude Cormier + Associés et Diamond Schmitt Architects
Rendu – SmartCentres, SmartUrban, Claude Cormier + Associés et Diamond Schmitt Architects
Rendu – SmartCentres, SmartUrban, Claude Cormier + Associés et Diamond Schmitt Architects
Diversité arboricole – Claude Cormier + Associés
VMC Central Park, plan directeur – Claude Cormier + Associés et Diamond Schmitt Architects
VMC Central Park, typologies paysagères – Claude Cormier + Associés
Coupes des typologies paysagères – Claude Cormier + Associés
Diagramme programmatique – Claude Cormier + Associés
VMC SmartUrban Development, plan directeur – Claude Cormier + Associés
VMC SmartUrban Development, usages et circulation – + AssociésClaude Cormier
Vaughan Metropolitain Centre (VMC) Streetscape and Open Space Masterplan – City of Vaughan
Vaughan Metropolitain Centre (VMC), contexte régional – Claude Cormier + Associés