Leslie Slip Lookout Park
Leslie Slip Lookout Park
Toronto (Ontario), Canada

The Leslie Slip Lookout Park is located at the east end of the Ship Channel in the Toronto Port Lands. Before the Port Lands was created over a century ago through the infilling of Ashbridge Bay, the site of the Leslie Slip Lookout had been a barrier beach sandbar that protected the marsh at the end of the current Don River. The proposed public space re-establishes some of the material qualities from this lost landscape, configured to appeal to the human scale and senses.

Close to downtown and Toronto’s east end neighbourhoods, the Leslie Slip Lookout is also a world on its own. Positioned on the Martin Goodman Trail and in the shadow of iconic Port Lands giants like the Hearn Power Station and the district’s cement factories, the Leslie Slip Lookout is a front row experience of a landscape normally off limits to most citizens. Close to the spontaneous nature emerging at the Leslie Spit, and the new estuary neighbourhood on Villiers Island at the mouth of the Don River, the curious combination of the site’s contextual anomalies reinforces the peculiar specificity of the Leslie Slip Lookout.

The planting strategy for the Leslie Slip Lookout draws from the robust successional vegetation observed throughout the Port Lands. A forested dune fringe on the east side of the park provides a stepping stone that links the emerging ecologies of Tommy Thompson Park with the future Leslie Street Green Portal, and a tree canopy that buffers the park from dust and noise coming from adjacent industrial activities.

The balance of open spaces proposed for the Leslie Slip Lookout creates a place of flexibility with universal appeal: a west-facing beach that optimizes the experience of the late afternoon sun; perched dunes with a long view over the slip, and a hierarchy of paths that culminate at the beach on the water’s edge. A place of comfort and surprising vitality, the allure of the Leslie Slip Lookout will position this far-off site into the public imagination as a distinct landmark within one of the Toronto’s most curious landscapes.

Client
CreateTO

Collaboration
gh3 (Architecture), Arup

Area
8170 m2 (1.9 acres)

Year
2021-2023

Status
In progress

Categories
Park
Waterfront
Rendering - Claude Cormier et Associés
Plan - Claude Cormier et Associés
Rendering - Claude Cormier et Associés
Rendering - Claude Cormier et Associés
Contextual Map - Claude Cormier et Associés
Plan - Claude Cormier et Associés
Plan - Claude Cormier et Associés
Plan - Claude Cormier et Associés
Rendering - Claude Cormier et Associés
Rendering - gh3 Architects
Rendering - gh3 Architects
Rendering - gh3 Architects
Rendering - Claude Cormier et Associés
Rendering - Claude Cormier et Associés
Rendering - Claude Cormier et Associés
Rendering - Claude Cormier et Associés
Rendering - Claude Cormier et Associés
Photo - Claude Cormier et Associés
Aerial photo, CreateTO
Video - Claude Cormier et Associés

Leslie Slip Lookout Park
Leslie Slip Lookout Park
Toronto (Ontario), Canada

Leslie Slip Lookout Park se trouve à l’extrémité est du Port Lands Ship Channel à Toronto. Avant la création des Port Lands par le remplissage de la baie d’Ashbridge il y a plus d’un siècle, le site du Leslie Slip Lookout se composait d’un banc de sable qui protégeait le marais à l’embouchure de l’actuelle Don River. L’espace public proposé ici rétablit certains attributs de ce paysage disparu, conçu à échelle humaine pour inspirer les sens.

Bien que proche du centre-ville et des quartiers est de Toronto, le Leslie Slip Lookout constitue un monde à part. Situé sur le sentier Martin Goodman, parmi les bâtiments industriels emblématiques du Port Lands tels que la centrale électrique de Hearn et les usines de ciment du quartier, le Leslie Slip Lookout offre une expérience de premier choix d’un paysage normalement inaccessible à la plupart des citoyens. À proximité de la végétation spontanée qui émerge et du nouveau quartier de l’estuaire sur l’île de Villiers à l’embouchure de la Don River, la curieuse combinaison des anomalies contextuelles du site renforce la spécificité du Leslie Slip Lookout.

La stratégie de plantation pour le parc s’inspire de la robuste végétation que l’on peut observer sur le territoire du Port Lands. Une bande de dunes boisées sur le côté est du parc établit une sorte de tremplin qui relie les différents systèmes écologiques du parc Tommy Thompson à ce futur portail vert de la rue Leslie. Elle constitue également un couvert forestier qui protège le parc de la poussière et du bruit provenant des activités industrielles adjacentes.

La répartition des espaces publics proposée pour le Leslie Slip Lookout procure un lieu flexible à l’attrait universel : une plage orientée ouest qui permet d’optimiser la présence du soleil de fin d’après-midi, des dunes perchées qui offrent une large vue sur les quais et de la zone portuaire et différents types de sentiers qui convergent vers la plage et le bord de l’eau. Lieu de confort et d’une surprenante vitalité, l’aménagement du Leslie Slip Lookout placera ce site lointain dans l’imaginaire collectif en tant que véritable point de repère au sein d’un des paysages les plus particuliers de Toronto.

Client
CreateTO

Collaboration
gh3 (Architecture), Arup

Superficie
8170 m2 (1.9 acres)

Année
2021-2023

Statut
En développement

Catégories
Parc
Waterfront
Rendu - Claude Cormier et Associés
Plan - Claude Cormier et Associés
Rendu - Claude Cormier et Associés
Rendu - Claude Cormier et Associés
Carte contextuelle - Claude Cormier et Associés
Plan - Claude Cormier et Associés
Rendu - Claude Cormier et Associés
Coupe - Claude Cormier et Associés
Rendu - Claude Cormier et Associés
Rendu - gh3 Architects
Rendu - gh3 Architects
Rendu - gh3 Architects
Rendu - Claude Cormier et Associés
Rendu - Claude Cormier et Associés
Photo aérienne - CreateTO
Vidéo - Claude Cormier et Associés