The Cats
The Cats
Toronto (Ontario), Canada

A moment of pause in the daily urban life of the Wellington Place Neighbourhood, ‘The Cats’ is a park that stretches across a long narrow plot and creates a key threshold into the area’s revitalized public realm framework.

This elegant mid-block connection links the dynamic King West Village to the north with the graceful Wellington Promenade to the south, enhancing pedestrian movements that integrate into the city’s broader parcours, and where the east end dogs of Berczy Park meet their match at the west end Cats.

An active-passive program of laid-back and stimulating contemplation is deployed under a lush canopy of deciduous trees. Brick walls flank this linear space concealing adjacent parking lots and frame a double row of Black Locust trees in lush beds of understory plants, flowering redbuds and fragrant catnip bouquets. The experience of this intimate oasis is centred around a narrow water axis and a succession of flowing cascades that enhance a fresh microclimate to counter summer heat. Seating in both sun and shade is oriented along this channel to foster urban contemplation, positioned so that visitors can see and be seen.

Guarded at both ends by cast-iron replicas of Dizzy, the neighborhood’s proud feline ambassador, this garden hide-away is also occupied by a cast-figure pride of Dizzy’s mates who watch over the critters in the park. Several built-in urban birdhouses, mouse holes and fish ponds foster a perpetual anticipation for their next 7-course menu.

Client
Diamond Corp., RioCan REIT, Allied Properties REIT

Area
1230 m2

Year
2017-2020

Status
In progress

Categories
Plaza / Garden
Plan, Wellington Cat Promenade and The Well - Claude Cormier et Associés
Photo, Dizzy "Street Ambassador" - Jacqui Jensen-Roy Photography
Photo, Dizzy "Street Ambassador" - Claude Cormier et Associés
Section, Wellington Cat Promenade - Claude Cormier et Associés
Plan, Wellington Cat Promenade - Claude Cormier et Associés
Plan, Wellington Street Green Axis - Claude Cormier et Associés

The Cats
The Cats
Toronto (Ontario), Canada

Occupant un site long et étroit connectant le quartier revitalisé qui s’élabore autour du site du Globe and Mail à la trépidante rue King vers le Nord, le parc offre à la fois un lien piéton important et un moment de répit dans le quotidien des résidents et usagers du voisinage.

Non seulement cet élégant passage en milieu d’ilot rétabli un lien physique entre les quartiers King West Village et Wellington Promenade, mais s’inscrit aussi dans le parcours urbain à grande échelle en répondant par sa thématique féline aux attachants chiens du Parc Berczy plus à l’est, faisant écho de façon ingénue et détournée aux mots des Pet Shop Boys qui opposaient dans un de leur plus grands succès les East-End Boys aux West-End Girls.

Sous une canopée luxuriante, l’espace offre un programme souple laissant une grande place à la flânerie et à la contemplation. Encadrée par de classiques murs de brique rouge dissimulant les stationnements adjacents, la promenade est flanquée d’une double-allée de robiniers plantés parmi une multitude d’espèces de vivaces et d’arbustes. Sur l’axe central se déploie une série de bassins reliés par un étroit canal où l’eau cascade doucement, créant une ambiance apaisante et un microclimat rafraichissant dans le cœur surchauffé de la métropole. De nombreux bancs, disposés autant à l’ombre qu’au soleil au pourtour des bassins, sont organisés pour permettre aux usagers de voir et d’être vu, encourageant sciemment cette forme débonnaire de voyeurisme urbain.

À chaque extrémité du parc une réplique fidèle de Dizzy, un fier et flegmatique matou bien connu des habitants du quartier, monte la garde aux portes de son jardin et veille sur une bande de sculptures félines se tenant aux aguets; c’est que les nombreux nichoirs, trous de souris et points d’eau disséminés dans ce microcosme titillent de façon perpétuelle l’appétit de ces attachants fauves.

Client
Diamond Corp., RioCan REIT, Allied Properties REIT

Superficie
1230 m2

Année
2017-2020

Statut
En développement

Catégories
Place / Jardin
Plan, Wellington Cat Promenade et The Well - Claude Cormier et Associés
Photo, Dizzy "ambassadeur de rue" - Claude Cormier et Associés
Coupe, Wellington Cat Promenade - Claude Cormier et Associés
Plan, Wellington Cat Promenade - Claude Cormier et Associés
Plan, Wellington Street Green Axis - Claude Cormier et Associés